Eskom Interim Chair Appointment

Eskom Interim Chair Appointment

PRETORIA – January 15 – Following the recent resignation of Eskom Board Chairman Mr Jabu Mabuza, the government has appointed Professor Malegapuru William Makgoba as interim chair.

Professor Makgoba is a leading scientist and academic who joined the Eskom Board as a non-executive director in 2018. He is the independent lead director.

His appointment as interim chair is consistent with the government’s commitment to good governance and the stability of the company.

The government is going through the process of putting in place a reconfigured board in line with President Cyril Ramaphosa’s announcement on Friday (Jan 10).

President Ramaphosa announced the Government’s plan to introduce a reconfigured Eskom Board with the appropriate mix of electricity industry, engineering and corporate governance experience.